Home » Gluten free vs. Vegan

Gluten free vs. Vegan

Gluten free vs. Vegan

Vegan & Gluten-Free – What’s The Difference

Veganism and gluten-free are two different diets. A vegan diet excludes all animal products, whereas a gluten-free diet excludes all gluten. While there is considerable overlap, the essential tenets are distinct.

What Is Veganism?

Veganism believes that you should not consume anything that has an animal in the supply chain. For example, because beef is derived directly from cows, you would not consume it while adhering to a vegan diet. Furthermore, because milk is derived from cows, you would be unable to consume it, even if the animal is not injured in obtaining the milk. This may be used for various products, ranging from chewy confectionery (which generally contains beef gelatin, which is manufactured from cattle bones) to cheese (which, of course, comes from milk). Veganism extends beyond the diet as well. A vegan, for example, may opt not to wear leather since it was created by slaughtering a cow. Of course, a specific vegan’s dos and don’ts are defined by that individual.

What Is Gluten-Free?

A gluten-free diet excludes gluten. Gluten is a chemical present in some cereals. It is present in wheat, barley, rye, and triticale, to name a few. This can be significant since just four grains account for the large majority of the world’s flour and, by extension, the vast majority of baked foods. A gluten-free individual may opt to prepare baked goods with coconut flour or rice flour, for example, to prevent gluten from such baked products. Gluten-free diets are becoming increasingly popular for a variety of reasons. People who follow a gluten-free diet do so because they may be celiac. This condition inhibits the human body from digesting gluten, which can make the person very unwell if they ingest some by accident. In other circumstances, people may opt to eliminate gluten in their diets since it positively impacts them. While this is uncommon, some people make that option and reap several rewards as a result.

What’s The Difference Between Vegan and Gluten-Free?

Expressed, the distinction between veganism and gluten-free is that the diets forbid different items. A vegan diet forbids the consumption, wearing, or usage of animal products. This includes poultry, fish, meat, and non-food goods like leather, honey, and fur. Gluten is not allowed in a gluten-free diet. Gluten may be present in wheat, rye, barley, and triticale. Hence gluten-free individuals should avoid these grains whenever possible. While certain foods might be undesirable for both a vegan and a gluten-free person, they are not always the same. A pizza with a wheat flour foundation and chicken as a topping, for example, would not be suitable for vegans or gluten-free persons. You might modify it by making the pizza base with cornflour and replacing the chicken with a meat alternative such as soy. Another distinction is that many people prefer to be vegan for various reasons, although not everyone who eats gluten-free does so voluntarily; it is frequently a way of life owing to medical issues such as gluten allergy or gluten intolerance.